Months of Hebrew Calender
You are currently viewing Months  of Hebrew Calender


 Months  of Hebrew Calender

The Hebrew calendar is a lunar calendar, with each month beginning on the new moon. The Hebrew months are:

  1. Nisan – March/April
  2. Iyar – April/May
  3. Sivan – May/June
  4. Tammuz – June/July
  5. Av – July/August
  6. Elul – August/September
  7. Tishrei – September/October
  8. Cheshvan – October/November
  9. Kislev – November/December
  10. Tevet – December/January
  11. Shevat – January/February
  12. Adar – February/March (Adar II in a leap year)

Note that the Hebrew calendar is a lunar calendar, so the dates of the months do not correspond exactly to the months of the Gregorian calendar. For example, the Hebrew month of Nisan, which is the first month of the Hebrew year, typically falls in March or April in the Gregorian calendar.

Leave a Reply